Posted in Uncategorized

Dr Parent wins TWO mentoring awards from the American Psychological Association

IMG_5727

In recognition of his mentorship of undergraduate and graduate students, Dr. Parent was awarded two separate mentorship awards in August, at the 2017 American Psychological Association Convention.

Dr. Parent received the APAGS Raymond D. Fowler award, and the Division 17 (Society for Counseling Psychology) Supervision and Training Section Early Career Supervisor/Trainer award. These awards recognize the effort and time that Dr. Parent puts into mentoring the next generation of behavioral and mental health service providers and researchers.

Tyler Bradstreet, in the photo above, nominated Dr. Parent for the mentorship awards, and letters of support were written by Dr. Parent’s students. Excerpts from the letters written in support of Dr. Parent include:

“I attribute my ability to consider therapy through an intersectional lens to Dr. Parent, as he champions recognizing that patients are not defined by singular identities but by the multitude of identities and experiences within them. This has helped me expand my conception of diversity. Without this, it would be easy to fall into a “one-size-fits-all” approach to therapy, leading to poorer outcomes for my patients.”

“During our supervision, Dr. Parent also focused on identifying the intersections of a client’s identity to improve my ability to modify my approach to best address the client’s presenting concern. I believe that my clinical skills and awareness of intersections of identity vastly improved through being supervised by Dr. Parent.”

“Dr. Parent has clearly demonstrated not only a commitment to providing professional support to his students, but a cohesive and positive working environment as well. All of my fellow students who have worked with him have remarked about the positive energy that he contributes to courses and to interactions with other faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates.”

“I speak on behalf of fellow trainees and myself to the confidence, competence, and efficacy Dr. Parent fosters and creates.”

“I would not be the clinician I am today, nor would I be the type of psychologist I might become in the future without his influence and incessant challenges to push beyond limits I had previously considered impassable.”

“While known around our psychology department as an extraordinary researcher and professor, his prowess as a supervisor is unparalleled by others. I strongly believe that when Dr. Parent was my supervisor was when I become more confident in my clinical abilities, conceptualization skills, and overall identity as a therapist, and I am forever grateful I had that experience with him.”

Leave a comment